For My Daughter

Dear Sweet Baby Girl,

You are here. And you are beautiful in every possible way. You are already a month old, and I have been remiss in writing to you. I want to apologize. I’m sure ate some point you will realize that your brother has a book with letters that I wrote to him before he was born. But you have no such book. I have no good excuse except that life got infinitely more crazy once your brother entered our lives. But still…I am sorry. I am writing now, and I will write again throughout the years.

There is so much I want to say to you that hardly know where to begin. You came into our lives during a time when things were stressful, to say the least. But you have already brought such joy and love with you that things don’t seem quite so bad. I have just under two months left at home with you before I have to go back to work, and I am trying to breath it all in, to soak in every moment of holding you, comforting you, loving you, before I can no longer spend all day every day with you.

I want to tell you about the challenges you will face as a girl and a woman that your brother will probably never have to face as a boy or as a man.  And I want to tell you that you can meet any challenge you are faced with.  I want to tell you that you have more strength than you think and that you can do anything, be anything, if you put your mind to it.  You will face trials and tribulations.  You will be judged, and you will judge others, although I hope you will think long and hard before you do.  But know this – I will never judge you.  As your mother, I will always be there to listen and support you.  There will be times – probably lots of them – when we will disagree.  During those times, I will be honest, but also patient and kind.  I will defend you ferociously to anyone who tries to harm you.  And I will be your biggest fan in all that you ever try to achieve.  When you fail, I will be there to help you pick up the pieces and start again.  And when life fails you, I will do the same.  I will be there to help you find your way at every fork in the road.

I will listen to your dreams and aspirations and do all that I can to make them a reality.  I will tell you about the struggles I have faced in achieving my own aspirations.  Hopefully those stories will seem obsolete to you, as if from another time entirely.

I will hold you when someone breaks your heart and you feel lost beyond being found.  I will listen when you decide to break someone else’s heart and are struggling with the guilt of it.

I have so much more I want to say about what life may throw your way, and how I will be there to guide you, to support you, and to love you.  But alas, I only have so much time before you wake up and cry for me to hold you.  So for now, I will leave you with this – I will love you, unconditionally, and without fail, every single moment of your life, with every breath I take and every beat of my heart. You will never be alone as long as I am alive.  Welcome to the world my sweet girl.  I can’t wait to stand by your side as we see what life brings you.  I love you.

Always,

Mommy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For My Daughter

Leave a Reply

